“Action for Christmas” – Yes, Die Hard is a Christmas Movie

"'Twas the night before Christmas, and all through the house, not a creature was stirring, except... the four a******* coming in the rear in standard two-by-two cover formation." - Theo, from Die Hard


If all you want for Christmas is a little heart-pounding suspense and action, then check out our list of action-packed thriller books that can accompany you through the long winter nights. So get your hot chocolate and cookies, then dive headfirst into these books! Then let us know what your favorites are from the bunch in our exclusive Facebook Reader Group.


Misjudged

by James Chandler


When a disabled veteran takes a new job as an attorney in a small Wyoming town, he is thrust into a mysterious murder case.

The Montoyas are used to a life without explanations. They know better than to ask why the pantry never seems to run low or empty, or why their matriarch won’t ever leave their home in Four Rivers—even for graduations, weddings, or baptisms. But when Orquídea Divina invites them to her funeral and to collect their inheritance, they hope to learn the secrets that she has held onto so tightly their whole lives. Instead, Orquídea is transformed, leaving them with more questions than answers.

Seven years later, her gifts have manifested in different ways for Marimar, Rey, and Tatinelly’s daughter, Rhiannon, granting them unexpected blessings. But soon, a hidden figure begins to tear through their family tree, picking them off one by one as it seeks to destroy Orquídea’s line. Determined to save what’s left of their family and uncover the truth behind their inheritance, the four descendants travel to Ecuador—to the place where Orquídea buried her secrets and broken promises and never looked back.

Alternating between Orquídea’s past and her descendants’ present, The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina is an enchanting novel about what we knowingly and unknowingly inherit from our ancestors, the ties that bind, and reclaiming your power.


The Enemies of My Country

by Jason Kasper


Highly recommended for fans of Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, and Jack Carr.

David Rivers is an elite-level assassin. A veteran operator who has served as a Ranger, a mercenary, and now as a CIA contractor conducting covert action around the world.

In his secluded mountain home in Virginia, however, David Rivers lives the quiet life of a family man. His cover legend is so strong that even his wife doesn’t know the true nature of his work.

Half a world away, on a mission to assassinate a foreign operative, Rivers uncovers intelligence pointing to an imminent attack on US soil. Now he must hunt down the terrorists before it’s too late.

But there was something impossibly chilling about this particular intel.

The target is in his hometown...

...and David Rivers’ wife and daughter are mentioned by name.

Want to hear about new releases as they come out? 

Sign up to get great recommendations and special offers from the Thrillerfix Team.


Firewall

by Andrew Watts


With FIREWALL, USA Today bestselling author Andrew Watts brings you a fast-paced, cerebral mystery that's part spy novel, part technothriller, and sure to keep you guessing every step of the way.

Nations and corporations alike are racing to dominate the world’s artificial intelligence industry...by whatever means necessary.

With its genius CEO and breakthrough technology, the Silicon Valley-based Pax AI Corporation is one of the hottest companies in the sector. But when one of their top scientists is murdered at a prestigious tech conference, company executives and foreign spies are all on the suspect list.

In the aftermath of the killing, CIA officer Colt McShane has been assigned to a joint counterintelligence unit based in San Francisco. The unit’s leadership believes that an international espionage ring has been stealing classified technology from Pax AI.

Now they want Colt to use his past relationship with Pax AI executive Ava Klein to penetrate the company’s inner circle, and uncover the mole.

But as Colt learns more about Pax AI’s classified programs, he discovers just how powerful—and dangerous—their new technology can be. As the struggle for AI dominance grows ever more competitive, the factions vying for power are becoming desperate to achieve victory.

In the fight for absolute power, there can be only one winner. Each side has their own spies and secrets.

Whose side will win? And what secrets will they reveal?


When Heroes Flew

by H. W. "Buzz" Bernard


An award-winning novel of extraordinary bravery, inspired by the true story of one of the most harrowing air raids ever flown. Fans of Beneath A Scarlet Sky, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this unforgettable tale of duty, honor, and compassion.

For B-24 bomber pilot Al Lycoming, the mission was history in the making. For Women’s Airforce Service Pilot Vivian Wright, it was a chance to put her skills to the ultimate test...and share in the burden of combat.

Dispatched to Benghazi on mysterious orders, Al Lycoming finds nearly 200 other B-24 bombers being assembled...and a top secret assignment that will catapult them all into seemingly impenetrable Nazi defenses.

Their mission: a daring low-level attack on Hitler’s extensive oil refineries.

But when his co-pilot falls ill at the last moment, Al secretly finds help from an unlikely source—Vivian.

Together, the two fly towards dark skies filled with enemy flak and fighters...and into the pages of history.

With perspectives from American and German pilots alike, When Heroes Flew masterfully weaves together one of the most dangerous and incredible aerial operations of World War Two with a riveting tale of bravery, suspense, and self-sacrifice.

Yippee Ki-Yay, Happy Holidays!!

Which thriller was your favorite from the list above? Be sure to join in on the discussion happening now in the Thrillerfix Reader Group on Facebook.