Historical Thrillers

Featured Book of the Week

The Last Nightingale

by Anthony Flacco

As a serial killer stalks his victims in the fiery ruins of the 1906 earthquake, the police detective hunting him must protect a pair of adolescent orphans.

It’s 1906, and people from across the country are flocking to San Francisco, a growing center of industry and culture. In the quake’s aftermath, another type of disaster strikes twelve-year old Shane Nightingale. Hiding in a closet for two days, he witnesses the violent deaths of his adoptive family at the hands of a twisted serial killer.

Sergeant Randall Blackburn is an honest police detective determined to track down the murderer. As Sergeant Blackburn’s work takes him through the ruins of the city, he spots the traumatized Shane Nightingale, and begins watching out for him. Soon Blackburn’s fate is linked with the cunning Shane and his scrappy orphan friend, ten year-old Vignette.

But despite Sergeant Blackburn’s protection, Shane is far from safe in the streets of the ravaged city. The killer is dead set on finishing the job—and won’t rest until the last Nightingale follows his family into the grave.

Anthony Flacco, an award winning screenwriter and true crime novelist, brings his two greatest talents together in the Nightingale Detective series. Fans of Devil in the White City will love this chilling serial killer mystery.

Our Favorite ThrillerPicks for You

A black and white photo illustrating how detectives work while trying to solve crimes similar to the Devil in the White City

Many people love historical fiction thrillers because they blur the lines of fiction and reality. In Devil in the White City, the monster is real but the tales around him leave you to wonder what is true and fictionalized. If you’re a fan of Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes, then you’re in for

Read More

15 Amazing Fictional Historical Books, Movies, TV Shows, and Podcasts for Fans of Devil in the White City & H.H. Holmes
A black and white blurry picture depicting how an alley looked like in 1888 similar to when Jack the Ripper Movie was set in

It’s human nature to be fascinated about what scares you the most, which explains why Jack the Ripper is one of the most captivating serial killers in history. Everyone has their own theories, but there is no consensus on who viciously slaughtered five women in Victorian England. Although the Ripper murders are historical, they’ve almost

Read More

15 Amazing Fictional Historical Books, Movies, TV Shows, and Podcasts for fans of Jack the Ripper Movie
A black and white picture depicting how the battlefield looked like where soldiers are aiming their rifles ready to shoot just like in The Nightingale Book

Nothing quite compares to a gripping historical thriller, especially if it’s a World War II saga such as The Nightingale book. World War II sagas can be tragic, heart-wrenching stories of loss and love or more light-hearted tales of friendship and adventure.Kristin Hannah weaves an immersive tale of love, loss, and hope that will stay

Read More

15 Amazing Fictional Historical Books, Movies, TV Shows and Podcasts for Fans of The Nightingale Book

Page [tcb_pagination_current_page] of [tcb_pagination_total_pages]

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

Talking Historical Thrillers

Historical Thrillers Featured Book of the WeekThe Last Nightingaleby Anthony FlaccoAs a serial killer stalks his victims in the fiery ruins of the 1906 earthquake, the police detective hunting him must protect a pair of adolescent orphans. It’s 1906, and people from across the country are flocking to San Francisco, a growing center of industry and

Read More

Historical

Page [tcb_pagination_current_page] of [tcb_pagination_total_pages]

Want to See More?

We've put together Mystery and Crime Books in Order from the top authors. Whatever order you read them in, we hope you enjoy!