Psychological Thrillers

Psychological Thriller
The Villa

Featured Book of the Week

The Villa

by Rachel Hawkins

From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend.

Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce’s girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album––and ends in Pierce’s brutal murder.

As Emily digs into the villa’s complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce’s murder wasn’t just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred––and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind.

Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge––and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends.

Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle––the birthplace of Frankenstein––The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy.

Our Favorite ThrillerPicks for You

You know those books that get under your skin? The ones that you can’t stop thinking about long after you’ve finished reading them? Verity by Colleen Hoover is one of those books.Verity is the story of a woman named Lowen who takes a job as a ghostwriter for one of the biggest self-help superstars in

Read More

15 Brilliant Books, Movies, TV Shows, and Podcasts for Fans of Verity by Colleen Hoover

Page [tcb_pagination_current_page] of [tcb_pagination_total_pages]

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

Talking Psychological Thrillers

Talking Thrillers with Author Janis Thomas: Finding Grace

Author biography: Janis Thomas is the author of bestselling domestic suspense novels What Remains True and All That’s Left of Me , as well as three critically acclaimed humorous women’s fiction novels, Something New, Sweet Nothings, and Say Never. Janis is a popular workshop leader and speaker and a passionate writing advocate. When she isn’t writing or fulfilling her PTA

Read More

Talking Thrillers with Author Janis Thomas: Finding Grace

Page [tcb_pagination_current_page] of [tcb_pagination_total_pages]

Want to See More?

We've put together Mystery and Crime Books in Order from the top authors. Whatever order you read them in, we hope you enjoy!