Murder Mystery Series with Captivating Heroines

Looking for some detective novels with strong female leads you can root for? You've come to the right place, then! Here are exciting mystery thriller series featuring compelling heroines who are determined to solve their cases and bring the bad guys to justice. Then let us know what your favorites are in our exclusive Facebook Reader Group.


Rachel Ryder Series

by Carolyn Ridder Aspenson


Bestselling author Carolyn Ridder Aspenson is back—this time with a scrappy heroine whose bold detective work and well-timed one-liners will leave you riveted—and entertained—at every turn.

New to town and a little rough around the edges, Detective Rachel Ryder finds herself on the receiving end of a suspicious person’s call in Hamby, Georgia. When the call turns out to be a dead body, the medical examiner is quick to rule the death a suicide. But was it something more sinister?

Everyone in the small department believes the case is closed—except for Rachel. The sudden passing of a local politician during the mayor’s run for Congress strikes her as a little too coincidental, and Rachel is eager to follow her instincts. Her partner, Rob, a 30-year veteran, isn’t the type to disobey his boss or ruffle any feathers, but he can’t convince strong-willed Rachel to let it go.

Obsessed with finding out the truth, Rachel begins to examine the evidence and drags her reluctant partner along for the ride. But the clues are confusing. Nothing is adding up.

Puzzled and running out of time, Rachel and Rob rush to work every angle and bring the elusive killer to justice before someone else ends up dead.


The Madeline Dawkins Series

by Cynthia Hamilton


Blackmail, sabotage, and blood-chilling suspense converge in this phycological thriller meets detective mystery.

Madeline wakes up naked in a five-star hotel with no memory of how she got there. At home, her husband is threatening to file for divorce. Someone sent him a series of incriminating pictures from last night, all featuring Madeline…in bed with a man she doesn’t recognize.

It’s an obvious setup, but nobody will believe her unless she can prove it.

Disgraced from her Santa Barbara community, Madeline is left to fend for herself against an invisible enemy. But each new clue pulls her deeper into a dangerous game, where old friends turn into enemies and nobody can be trusted.

As her enemy’s attacks grow increasingly personal and disturbing, it’s clear they will do anything to destroy Madeline’s reputation…or even her life.

Told through the eyes of an unsuspecting wife who must navigate the misinformation and betrayal found around every corner.

An action-packed ride full of unexpected twists, a must-read for fans of Ruth Ware, Karin Slaughter, and Mary Stone.

Want to hear about new releases as they come out? 

Sign up to get great recommendations and special offers from the Thrillerfix Team.


The Nichelle Clarke Series

by Mark Sullivan


A murder mystery series taut with gripping, authentic plots that only a former crime reporter could write—pick up your LynDee Walker thriller today.

When two rookie cops are killed in a fiery crash near Richmond, Virginia, crime reporter Nichelle Clarke is sent in to investigate.

But as Nichelle digs deeper into the case, she discovers this was no ordinary accident.

People and evidence soon begin to disappear. Someone is one step ahead of her. A master criminal with a deadly secret, covering their tracks with ruthless efficiency.

The killer will stop at nothing to keep the truth hidden. But as she draws closer to unraveling the mystery of two dead cops, Nichelle realizes that she's become the next target.

Which thriller was your favorite from the list above? Be sure to join in on the discussion happening now in the Thrillerfix Reader Group on Facebook.