Three Historical Fiction Thrillers to Read this Presidents’ Day

Presidents' Day is just around the corner and there's nothing like historical military thrillers to get you into the patriotic spirit.  So dig into our list of action-packed stories of bravery and heroism, and make your Presidents' Day weekend epic! Then let us know what your favorites are in our exclusive Facebook Reader Group.


After Dunkirk Series

by Lee Jackson


In the tradition of grand World War II sagas Beneath a Scarlet Sky and Of Windmills and War, After Dunkirk introduces the Littlefield family, fighting valiantly in the darkest days of the German occupation.

After Dunkirk heralds a stunning new voice in historical epics, a worthy heir to Wouk and Follett.


Winston Churchill called it Britain’s finest hour. The Royal Navy evacuated 330,000 soldiers from Dunkirk.

But more than 200,000 were left behind.

On the beaches, Jeremy Littlefield hides for his life. His path home will draw him through the iron will and the unbreakable heart of the French Resistance.

Only a few miles away, his brother, Lance, rallies fellow soldiers to start a trek that will take them across Europe, sabotaging the Germans in a mission tantamount to suicide.

Back in England, their sister Claire works at Bletchley Park, cracking the codes that could save the lives of her brothers, and thousands of their comrades.

Finally, there is Paul, the cerebral eldest son, working for MI-6, who always knows more than he is able to tell his beloved siblings.


When Heroes Flew

by H. W. "Buzz" Bernard


An award-winning novel of extraordinary bravery, inspired by the true story of one of the most harrowing air raids ever flown. Fans of Beneath A Scarlet Sky, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this unforgettable tale of duty, honor, and compassion.

Winston Churchill called it Britain’s finest hour. The Royal Navy evacuated 330,000 soldiers from Dunkirk.


But more than 200,000 were left behind.


On the beaches, Jeremy Littlefield hides for his life. His path home will draw him through the iron will and the unbreakable heart of the French Resistance.


Only a few miles away, his brother, Lance, rallies fellow soldiers to start a trek that will take them across Europe, sabotaging the Germans in a mission tantamount to suicide.


Back in England, their sister Claire works at Bletchley Park, cracking the codes that could save the lives of her brothers, and thousands of their comrades.


Finally, there is Paul, the cerebral eldest son, working for MI-6, who always knows more than he is able to tell his beloved siblings.

Want to hear about new releases as they come out? 

Sign up to get great recommendations and special offers from the Thrillerfix Team.


Beneath a Scarlet Sky

by Mark Sullivan


Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Which thriller was your favorite from the list above? Be sure to join in on the discussion happening now in the Thrillerfix Reader Group on Facebook.

Read More ThrillerPicks

A black and white photo illustrating how detectives work while trying to solve crimes similar to the Devil in the White City
A black and white blurry picture depicting how an alley looked like in 1888 similar to when Jack the Ripper Movie was set in
A black and white picture depicting how the battlefield looked like where soldiers are aiming their rifles ready to shoot just like in The Nightingale Book