10 Books for Fans of the X Movie

If you're anything like us, you likely felt that the running time of the movie "X" wasn't nearly long enough. Sure, 106 minutes is pretty standard for today's film industry… but we were dying for more of the thrills, twists, and screams that made this movie a signature A24 release. 

Although a sequel is rumored to be in production, you shouldn't have to wait for more jaw-dropping entertainment. We've put together a list of ten incredible books that evoke the scariness (and sexiness) of "X". There are movie sets, unexpected killers, and even a few bonus media recommendations if you stick around until the end. 

It's time for lights, cameras, action. (Emphasis on the lights — you're going to want to leave them on.)


Recommendations for Books Similar to the X Movie

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

As the title would imply, Marisha Pessl's "Night Film" is the perfect fit for any reader who also considers themselves a film buff. If you appreciated the meta inclusion of a movie crew in "X" you'll be blown away by the multimedia elements and references to film culture woven throughout this story. 

Read More

The story follows a journalist hoping to uncover the mystery behind the death of Ashley Cordova. Ashley was the daughter of a cult film director known for his horrific movies and reclusive behavior. The further he gets into the clues, the more he starts to wonder if the films are real. Read here.

The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre

As much as the "X" movie was a horror film, it was also an expression and examination of female sexuality. Ti West may have taken inspiration from A.R. Torre, as the latter's book is a perfect pairing for his film.
"The Girl in 6E" follows a successful cam girl who makes a healthy living from 

Read More

the safe confines of her apartment. Her confinement isn't for her own safety, however. She has an insatiable urge to kill… and staying inside only gets more challenging. Read here.

The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

Stay with us, because this plot gets a little complicated. "The Woman in the Library" tells the story of a group of strangers whose lives are thrust together after all being present for the same murder. At the same time, it follows the woman writing that story, who is receiving increasingly alarming fan mail.  

Read More

With two mysteries unraveling simultaneously, this one will keep you glued to the pages and fearing for the author's life. As the "X" movie showed us, creating art while fighting to survive isn't easy. Read here.

Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix

What's scarier than spending all day looking at furniture in a department store? Getting trapped there overnight. A rag-tag group of shoppers becomes hopelessly lost in "Orsk" — a sinister and satirical take on IKEA. Among them is a media crew hoping to document supernatural activity… and they get a little 

Read More

more than they bargained for.
Formatted in the style of an IKEA catalog and filled with terrifying moments, this book has all the wit, quirks, and scares you'd get from an A24 film. Read here.

Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant

Like the "X" Movie, Mira Grant's "Into the Drowning Deep" follows a film crew headed into unknown territory. This time, however, they're not looking to capture pornography… they're hoping to document killer mermaids.
Not sold yet? What if we told you that this film crew is actually the second to 

Read More

explore the mermaid's habitat? After the first filmmakers disappeared without a trace, our main characters were determined to find out if this was a coincidence, a hoax, or a horrifying attack. Read here.

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

You've undoubtedly heard of Mark Z. Danielewski's terrifying tome, "House of Leaves." But have you braved its 700 pages? Look, you asked for more thrills — this beast will certainly provide them.
Told in a multimedia format, this book explores a mysterious house that is larger 

Read More

on the inside than it is on the outside. When a famous photographer moves into the residence, he attempts to document everything he finds. This story seems even bigger on the inside than it looks. Read here.

Nana by Brandon Massey

Oh, the "X" movie got you hooked on unexpected killers? We'll give you unexpected killers. When Monica Stephens finally discovers the identity of her birth mother, she wants to make up for lost time. Grace, or "Nana" to Monica's children, moves into their home and naturally joins the family. 

Read More

The sweet reunion quickly takes a sinister twist, however. The more that goes wrong for Monica, the more Nana seems to thrive. It would appear as though Nana is sucking the life out of Monica… and there's no way she can be stopped. Read here.

So Happy for You by Celia Laskey

Hot pink cover to lull you into a false sense of security? Check. Feminine rage? Check. Getting murdered by your closest friend? Not if you can escape in time.
When Ellie asks Robin to be her maid of honor, Robin is expecting a cheesy but casual weekend. However, as the big day approaches, Robin begins to feel like 

Read More

she is being hunted by the bridal party… and betrayed by the last person she would ever expect. Read here.

Death in Her Hands by Ottessa Moshfegh

The "X" movie probably makes you too scared to meet another old lady protagonist. Too bad. Introducing… "Death in Her Hands." This mind-bending thriller follows an elderly widow who stumbles upon an ominous note in the woods. 

Read More

"Her name was Magda. Nobody will ever know who killed her. It wasn't me. Here is her dead body." The only problem? The body isn't there. All that remains is the widow's unending obsession with solving a murder… a murder that she can't even be confident took place. Read here.

Any Man by Amber Tamblyn

If the "X" movie explores suppressed feminine sexuality and rage, "Any Man" by Amber Tamblyn is its literary equivalent. This horrifying novel does not hold back as it examines the life of a female sexual predator and her traumatized victims.
Incorporating multimedia elements such as tweets, interviews, and blog posts, 

Read More

you'll finish this book in a day… and be left thinking about it for years. Read here.

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

Bonus Picks! Watch and Listen to Media Similar to the X Movie

Hardcore (1979)

Whether or not you've previously heard of this classic 70s thriller, it's time for you to revisit it. Hardcore contains similar themes to the "X" movie, as it follows a father hoping to rescue his daughter from California's pornography industry.
As Variety noted, the "X" movie certainly drew inspiration from the film. Perhaps 

Read More

most interestingly, Ti West's 2022 film is set in 1979, the year "Hardcore" was released. Watching (or re-watching) Hardcore will illustrate just how perfectly he nailed those vibes. Watch here.

Marigold (podcast)

Like most horror fans, you've probably got a long list of podcasts you turn to for movie recommendations. "Marigold" is a different kind of horror pod, though. This episodic series tells a horror story all of its own, following a male paranormal investigator and his conversations 

Read More

with a woman named Anne.
Anne believes her house is haunted, and she's finally ready to share what she's experienced. Of course, the "X" movie taught us to question if you can trust the people who welcome you into their house… Listen here.

There you have it! If you enjoyed X movie, then you're in for a treat with these horror, mystery books, and movies. From spine-tingling thrillers to time-twisting psychological dramas, there's something on this list for everyone. So curl up with your favorite blanket and get ready to be shocked, surprised, and entertained by your next favorite mystery.

Read More ThrillerPicks

A demonic-looking woman has soulless black pits for eyes and overall blurred features aside from a wide and menacing smile.
An illustration of a woman screaming her lungs out depicting Laurie Strode’s and Sidney Prescott’s role in the Scream franchise
Unrecognizable blurred faces in the darkness portraying blurred realities just like in the horror book, Annihilation