Back to Uncategorized

15 Amazing Fictional Historical Books, Movies, TV Shows, and Podcasts for Fans of Devil in the White City & H.H. Holmes

Many people love historical fiction thrillers because they blur the lines of fiction and reality. In Devil in the White City, the monster is real but the tales around him leave you to wonder what is true and fictionalized.

If you're a fan of Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes, then you're in for a treat! Here are 15 amazing fictional historical books, movies, TV shows, and podcasts that are themed around a serial killer retelling.

As a bonus for stopping by, get the inside scoop on our top ThrillerPick for this topic. We sat down with Anthony Flacco to ask him about his new book, which we LOVE for fans of Eric Larson. Get insights about his new series and the serial killer on the loose during the true historical events happening in San Francisco in the early 1900's. 


If you want to READ amazing historical thrillers for fans of Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes

The year is 1906, and the location is San Francisco. A sudden earthquake marks the beginning of the crumbling of buildings and raging fires as San Francisco is devastated. But there’s more than one force of destruction: loose in the city is a serial killer. Enjoy the historical detail as Sergeant Blackburn battles profiteering 

Read More

at its worst to join hands with Shane Nightingale. Why? While Shane is the only survivor of a family that’s assumed to have perished in the earthquake, the truth is far more sinister. Read here.

 

A dying serial killer claims that he’s telling the truth this time around. The truth is that his confession was false, which means that he did not kill Susan Verity. So, who did it? And why did he claim to have buried her back in 1976? Now that’s it 1996, how much of a price is officer Ian Bradley willing to pay to play in 

Read More

Wicklow’s games of secrets and lies? Bradley must enlist the help of investigative journalists Tom and Helen to figure out what’s what as he reopens Susan’s cold case. Read here.

Eager to travel to Chicago during the 1890s World’s Fair, Ruby has no idea she’s making a deadly mistake. She soon joins the growing list of disappeared women, leaving her sister Zurreta the unfortunate task of looking for her. And unfortunate it is, as Zurreta must face H.H. Holmes himself in his infamous murder castle. 

Read More

Perfect for fans of H.H. Holmes and Devil in the White City. With real quotes setting the tone for each chapter, you’d best be prepared for the unbearable terror and suspense that follows. Read here.

She has zero remorse for her victims. In fact, they’re just part of her daily and weekly planning. How else is Belle Gunness to retain her title as the most prolific female serial killer of the late 1800s to the early 1900s? For the black widow of La Porte, one lesson, learned the hard way, endures. She must be crafty and  

Read More

ultimately rely on herself to get what she wants. This creepy tale will have you holding your breath along with Belle’s neighbors as one man after the next falls into her death trap. Read here.

It’s 1888 when the bodies of brutally killed prostitutes are discovered in Whitechapel, London. Meanwhile, the body of a man is also found in Brighton, leaving the detectives at Scotland Yard scratching their heads. Enjoy the vivid imagery of London in that time period as Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Watson, and

Read More

Inspector Lestrade stop at nothing to solve the case. Could it be Jack the Ripper? A superbly researched read. Read here.

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

If you want to WATCH amazing historical thrillers for fans of Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes

It’s time for some work-life balance. You followed a woman trying to find her husband and save her family in The Last Thing He Told Me. Now, let’s head to the office for an incredible thrilling set during business hours. Mark heads up a team of employees whose brains have been surgically divided between work 

Read More

and home. However, they’re starting to catch on to the fact that something is up, and they’re determined to find out the truth.  Watch here.

When Versace meets Andrew Cunanan at a gay nightclub in 1990, he has no idea that he has sparked an unhealthy obsession. Unfortunately for Versace, this obsession ends tragically for him, albeit seven years later. Fans of historical thrillers will be impressed with the non-linear timeline employed in this second 

Read More

season of American Crime Story. The trail of lies and bodies will also keep you glued to the screen, even as you debate whether to let your heart break for Cunanan. Watch here.

 3. Lost Girls

Inspired by a true story, Lost Girls tells the story of a mother who’s desperate to find her missing daughter. Unable to stand the apathy of the local police, Mari decides to piece together her 24-year-old daughter’s final hours—only to uncover a series of unsolved murders. Yes, like her daughter, all victims are sex 

Read More

workers based in Long Island and the surrounding area. Set in 2010, this appropriately dark movie strives to stick as close as possible to the harrowing real-life events in Lost Girls: An Unsolved American Mystery by Robert Kolker.

Based on the graphic novel My Friend Dahmer, this movie is inspired by the true story of Jeffrey Dahmer. Dahmer was responsible for heinous murders in the 1980s, but like all serial killers, he had his reasons. You’ll find it unsettling as Dahmer collects and dissolves road kill in his makeshift lab. But it’s his awkward

Read More

interactions with his peers that pile on the tension and bring the shivers. There’s an explosion coming. You just won’t know how or when. Watch here.

Jack is a highly intelligent serial killer whose murdering career spans 12 years. Operating in the 1970s, he views each murder as an artwork in itself. For Jack, it’s a race against time to create the ultimate artwork. The reason? His increased daring and carelessness, including signing anonymous letters to the media, 

Read More

make it more likely for the police to zero in on him. You’ll enjoy it if you’re a fan of H.H. Holmes and Devil in the White City. Watch here.

Join ThrillerFix for Free

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

If you want to LISTEN to amazing historical thrillers for fans of Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes

Hosted by a hairstylist and an autopsy technician, Morbid is guaranteed to thrill you back into creepy and spooky history. If you liked Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes, you’ll enjoy the numerous forays into the past this podcast presents. From the Golden State Killer to Ted Bundy, Charles Manson to The 

Read More

Nightstalker, there’s no shortage of serial killer stories—with some sprinklings of humor! While there’s nothing funny about murder, the commentary and hilarity the hosts bring into the conversation are to die for. Listen here.

2. Unsolved Murders – Podcast

Unsolved Murders is more radio drama than plain narration, employing voice actors and sound effects to retell each incident. The first season begins with a three-part look at the Axeman of New Orleans, a jazz-loving serial killer who terrorized the city in the early 20th century for 18 months. Next, you’ll explore 

Read More

first Hollywood murder during the silent era and a real-life, mid-century madman who terrorized a Texas town and inspired the hook man urban legend. You’ll be begging for more episodes in no time.

Each of True Crime Garage’s episodes starts with a spooky retelling of a specific crime. Examples include the Son of Sam killings in the 1970s and the Slender Man stabbings of 2012. You’ll be thrilled by the refreshingly different takes the hosts put forth as they pop open a beer and loosen up. Their insights on various 

Read More

serial killers will entertain all die-hard fans of the genre. Listen here.

This weekly podcast shines a light on underreported murders and disappearances of black girls and women. While it does have elements of true crime, it also features retellings of real serial killers. If you loved Devil in the White City and H.H. Holmes, you’ll enjoy the serial killer episode on Khalil 

Read More

Wheeler-Weaver.  Listen here.

This is a Law and Order podcast that prides itself on being both fact and fiction. It recaps episodes of the iconic Law and Order TV show and discusses the true crimes that inspired their retelling. While this podcast often sticks to the older shows, listeners will like that the stories and issues discussed are still present 

Read More

and significant. Fans of H.H. Holmes and Devil in the White City will find the serial killer episodes most riveting! These include the one on The Blood Countess and The Great Soda Debate of 1997. Listen here.

Read More ThrillerPicks

10 Books for Fans of Women’s Murder Club
Talking Thrillers with Andrews & Wilson: Dark Intercept
spider heist