Back to Uncategorized

10 Books for Fans of Women’s Murder Club

Lovers of Women’s Murder Club rejoice! Before you get too excited, no there isn’t another season coming out any time soon. The celebration is because if you’re currently experiencing James Patterson withdrawals and need something like Women’s Murder Club to get you through the long days and nights before the next season comes out, then keep reading. We've compiled a list of our favorite bad-ass female mystery characters for fans of Women's Murder Club.

Plus, as a bonus for stopping by, let us help you prepare for your next book club. Our ThrillerPicks "Book Club Kits" provide behind the scene insights for your book discussion, a themed drink, menu and playlist.

Featuring LynDee Walker's, Faith McClellan, the rebellious daughter of a Texas political dynasty groomed her to be a trophy wife, but turned Texas Ranger. This is a read that Women’s Murder Club fans will love. Use this kit at your next book club to lead a discussion of questions, food and drink suggestions, and behind-the-scenes author insights found only on this site!


Here are the 10 best crime novel series with a strong female lead, just for you.

Fear No Truth

Looking for a kickass female detective - look no further than Faith Mclellan. As Texas Ranger Faith McClellan investigates a young woman’s murder, she must solve a puzzle of lies and overcome powerful enemies. As the rebellious daughter of a Texas political dynasty that groomed her to be a trophy wife, 

Read More

freshly-minted Texas Ranger Faith McClellan is determined to carve her own path. She’s grinding away each day, hoping to land one of the coveted assignments on the cold case unit. But when a young female track star is murdered in one of Texas’ most affluent communities, Faith uncovers a series of shocking connections. Secrets that could destroy the carefully curated reputations of those in power. And they will do anything to stop her… Read here.

The Likeness

Author of In The Woods is back with the second book in the Dublin Murder Squad series, The Likeness. This book follows Cassie Maddox, after the traumatizing events of the first book in the series. So scarring were the previous events, that Cassie decides to drop out of the murder squad…Until Sam, her 

Read More

boyfriend calls her to the scene of his new case. The murdered girl is practically Cassie’s double, carrying an ID that Cassie used years before. Cassie is sent undercover in the place of ‘Lexie Madison’, to trick the killer out of hiding and catch them once and for all. Read here.

Miss Marple Mysteries

If you’re in the mood for something fun but still full of twists and turns into the dark recesses of the criminal mind, then you can’t go wrong with Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple series. Follow Jane Marple, an elderly spinster turned consulting detective who can never seem to keep her nose out of other people’s 

Read More

business…or their crimes. This is a great ‘between’ read, especially if your preferences are on the heavier side. Read here.

If you’re a James Patterson fan or a fan of Women’s Murder Club, then the chances of you never having read Kathy Reichs are slim to none. In her twenty-first (you read that right) novel, we are once again thrown into the twisted world of forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan.

Read More

After receiving a box that contains a human eyeball, she discovers a series of gruesome killings…except they’re all too familiar. She’s seen this pattern one too many times. Read here.

This is the first book in the Trilogia del Baztan series which is set in Basque Country, Spain. Homicide inspector Amaia Salazar must go back to the hometown she fought so hard to escape, when a teenage girl’s naked body is found on a riverbank. Dark secrets, nightmarish scenes, and a dash of 

Read More

mythology and paganism make this a thrilling psychological read that will be sure to make you question your own beliefs. Read More.

Find Your Next Thrill

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

The first book in the Still series, follows Clare, a woman on the run from her twisted past. When she shows up at a remote mining town asking about a missing girl, everyone wants to know why this mystery woman showed up asking the questions that no one but the police have asked before. Who is Clare? Why 

Read More

is she looking for Shayna? How is Clare tied to Shayna? What deadly secrets does the small town of Blackmore have under its quaint facade? Read here.

Love the idea of a tough cop turned PI? Then you’ll love the Kinsey Millhone series. Set in Santa Theresa, California, A is for Alibi starts with Kinsey Millhone, a twice-divorced loner who strays away from close relationships. Eight years ago, Nikki Fife was convicted of killing her husband. She’s on parole and comes 

Read More

to Kinsey to help her find the real killer. Did Nikki kill her husband, or will the second corpse they find lead them to the evidence they need to prove Nikki’s innocence once and for all? Read here.

This series follows Stephanie Plum, a young bounty hunter who is still trying to find her way. When she’s put on the case of Kenny Manusco, a working-class boy who just shot his best friend, Stephanie has no idea how deep the water really runs. Will she drown in the high-stakes case, or will she swim and find her 

Read More

purpose? This series features a wildly colorful and entertaining cast of characters. Readers who want a fun series with some of the weight of Women’s Murder Club will not regret picking this series up! Read here.

The In Death series made the #1 New York Times Bestselling list multiple times for a reason. In this first installment, we are introduced to Eve Dallas, a New York City Detective in the year 2058. Follow Eve into the trenches of political society as she tries to solve the murder of a senator’s daughter. Technology

Read More

rules the world, but you can’t automate human impulses. Read here.

Homicide detective Tracy Crosswhite has always been haunted by the question, “What happened to Sarah?”. Twenty years ago, her sister went missing, twenty years ago, they put the wrong man behind bars. Now, after the discovery of Sarah’s remains, Tracy is thrown back into her worst nightmare as she tries to 

Read More

apprefind the real killer and face her demons once and for all. Ready for the binge read of your life? Follow Tracy White through all nine books in the series. Read here.

Ready to find your next favorite series? Subscribe to our blog for more content just like this, delivered right to your inbox!

Find Your Next Thrill

Sign up here for exclusive access to giveaways, discounts, and outstanding book recommendations.

Read More ThrillerPicks

15 Amazing Fictional Historical Books, Movies, TV Shows, and Podcasts for fans of Devil in the White City & H.H. Holmes
Talking Thrillers with Andrews & Wilson: Dark Intercept
spider heist